

European Union

EU Statement to bid farewell to the Director of the UN Office for Outer Space Affairs

59th session of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS)

Vienna, 16 February 2022

Mr. Chair,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States. The following countries align themselves with this statement: Turkey[§], the Republic of North Macedonia^{*}, Montenegro^{*}, Serbia^{*}, Albania^{*}, Bosnia and Herzegovina^{*}, Norway⁺, Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia.

The European Union and its Member States wish to thank Director Simonetta Di Pippo for her dedication and commitment in promoting international cooperation in the peaceful uses of outer space at the helm of the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs during the last eight years.

As a testimony of her outstanding leadership, COPUOS membership has increased to 100 Member States, space will be one of the seven high level tracks in the Summit of the Future in 2023, and more States than ever before can benefit of and access to space, thanks to UNOOSA's significant contributions as a gateway, convener and capacity builder.

Dear Director Di Pippo,

Your many accomplishments have been an inspiration ever since the International Astronomical Union assigned your name "dipippo" to the asteroid 21887. We recognize and thank you for your full dedication and excellent work in making space accessible to all, including women and youth through UNOOSA innovative programmes Space4Women, Space4Youth and Kids reaching stars, among others.

We wish you every success in your future endeavours.

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

[§] Candidate Country

^{*} Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country

Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

⁺ Norway is a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.